top of page

Writing Tip : The Word Very

The word "very" is absolutely the bane of my existence. And I use it all the time. Like that toxic ex that you just cant get away from. ;)

I can't help it, it's addicting and simple, but it kills the flow of your novel (because it's easy and simple). So, below I have added some tips and tricks to help you cut the word 'very' out of your life.


Find and replace

In my rounds of editing, I usually have a round for only looking for the word 'very'. During the first draft, you can use the word very as much as you want, as long as your getting the plot in order. Use the word 'very' very religiously. Then, when your editing, go to find and replace, and search the word 'very'. Use this time to replace the word very with better words.


Thesaurus

Another trick you can use is to use the thesaurus to make the word very change automatically. I would use a word like extremely, or vastly. Same word, but a higher level of thinking and has a different connotation.


Helpful Words

Regardless, I know some people have a hard time thinking of words to replace very, so I have put together a handy dandy list for you. Enjoy!

SYNONYMS FOR very

absolutely

awfully

certainly

decidedly

deeply

eminently

exceedingly

excessively

extraordinarily

extremely

greatly

highly

incredibly

noticeably

particularly

pretty

profoundly

remarkably

surprisingly

terribly

truly

uncommonly

unusually

wonderfully

acutely

amply

astonishingly

considerably

dearly

emphatically

exaggeratedly

extensively

indispensably

largely

notably

positively

powerfully

prodigiously

pressingly

substantially

vastly


Thank you for reading! Don't forget to like and comment! Subscribe box is on the homepage!

I hope you have a very ;) good day.

1 view
bottom of page